Prof. Loyiso Nongxa


Prof. Loyiso Nongxa is the Founding Chairperson of the Energy Mobility Education Trust. The former Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits) and Founding Director of its Centre of Mathematical and Computational Sciences obtained a Bachelor of Science (1975), Honours (1976), and Master of Science (1978) from the University of Fort Hare and a Doctor of Philosophy at Oxford University (1982).

He has served in various leadership positions at Wits and University of the Western Cape (UWC). These include Dean of Science at UWC and Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor at Wits as well as serving on the Councils of these two institutions and that of University of Cape Town. He served as Chairperson of the Review Committee of the National System of Innovation appointed by the Minister of Science and Technology; was member of various advisory committees constituted by the Foundation for Research Development; Founding Chairperson of the SASOL Inzalo Foundation; Chairperson of the Higher Education South Africa Research and Innovation Strategy Group; Chairperson of the Board of TENET, a South African NREN; and a Board Member and Trustee of various educational trusts.

Prof. Nongxa has lectured mathematics at the University of Fort Hare, the National University of Lesotho, the former University of Natal, University of the Western Cape and University of the Witwatersrand. He has also been a visiting research scholar at the Universities of Colorado, Harvard, Connecticut, Hawaii, and Baylor as well as Balliol College at Oxford University.